How to easily connect to the GDSN

The latest news about Alkemics

How to easily connect to the GDSN

par Chen Do12 March 20190 commentaires

While GS1 and the GDSN network represent a series of standards, sharing product data remains a complex subject in the current omnichannel landscape. Here are a few tips to simplify the process of adopting these standards, while using your product catalogue to accelerate your business.

E-commerce pure players (such as Amazon and CDiscount), food information apps (such as Yuka), platforms like Google Manufacturer Center and third-party services (like Swaven and Clic2Buy), and of course, buying groups and retail stores: all of these are part of a new omnichannel context in which new channels are emerging, but are rarely replacing existing channels — just complexifying them. This can prove to be a struggle for brands, who find themselves faced with more and more challenges in the process of sharing their product data with retailers.

This suggests a need for a standardized approach to sharing product data. In fact, this standard already exists (the GDSN) but the various different aspects of this can sometimes be poorly understood. Let’s be honest, the term itself can sometimes result in confusion: “GDSN” (Global Data Synchronization Network) only refers to the network that is used to transfer product data between a manufacturer and a retailer.

In practice, despite the technical terms often used to describe it, the network is very similar to tools that we use every day, such as email. Within this network, each actor has their own address: in this case, it’s the GLN (Global Location Number), which can be compared to an email address. Each item also has a code, the GTIN, which corresponds to the bar code on the product packaging. This would be the subject line of our email. The body of the email would correspond to the product page, which also has a specific format, established by the GS1 organization.

As GS1 has defined a set of standards for sharing product data, what role does a platform such as Alkemics play in this context? Firstly, it represents an access point for the GDSN network. This network uses Internet protocols, but that doesn’t mean that it is public. To share data, you need to use an accredited gateway such as Alkemics, which is a GS1 certified platform.

Secondly, Alkemics makes it easier for brands to adopt GS1 standards. Using the platform, product pages can be exported in GS1 format with just a few clicks. Finally, though developing standards is not Alkemics’ primary mission — that’s the objective of GS1 — like all contributors, they can test new product attributes that are not yet part of the standard and suggest them to GS1, thus playing a role in the large-scale process of standardization.

Have all retailers decided to use the GDSN network to share product data?

No, not really. In practice, each company chooses based on their existing IT resources, their organization and their processes. Many companies still use Excel. More precisely, each of these retailers have defined their own format for sharing product data using Excel. Or rather, their own formats, as each retailer will have various different listing processes, each with its own specific format. They may have one Excel format for nationally listed products, another for promotions, another for regional buying groups, etc. Unsurprisingly, while large companies may have the necessary resources to manage this complex technical challenge, it can quickly become a nightmare for small brands. And there’s a good reason for this: as the number of channels increases — along with the formats used to share data — it may become necessary to maintain multiple versions of a product catalogue and use various different software solutions. Fortunately, the aim of solutions such as Alkemics is to prevent the need to have many different versions of these catalogues.

How can you prevent your product catalogue from becoming a work-intensive technical challenge, and instead turn it into a resource that can boost your business?

Here are 5 key steps:

  1. Whether you’ll be entering information manually or importing data in bulk, the key is to use a flexible solution that is well adapted to the company’s needs, tools and processes.
  2. Manage various different types of data
    Have you entered the necessary logistics data? Have you added additional content (such as visuals and videos) to highlight your products? Your catalogue must offer a complete and scalable template for these different types of data.
  3. Verify data quality
    Check if your product data is compliant with your retailers’ requirements, as well as with regulatory requirements (such as INCO, CLP and CELEX). To do this, it is extremely helpful to use a system that automatically detects if these fields have been filled in, while also checking for errors.
  4. Publish your product data
    Whether you’re using a tool to generate the Excel files required by your retailers, or connecting directly to the GDSN network, improve efficiency by publishing product data from a single catalogue.
  5. Steer your operations
    Reply to retailer requests, verify that the necessary data has been entered, etc. Centralizing all of this data in a single location simplifies this process and ensures accuracy.

How can you determine if a solution is truly able to address these needs? Here are a few questions to consider:

  • Does the solution require software to be deployed on the site, or does it have a quick online set-up?
  • Is the solution user-friendly, and does it offer a simple way to enter information and verify this information quickly?
  • Can users search for products by GTIN, EAN code or brand?
  • Do product page templates take into account regulatory and retailer requirements?
  • Is the data quality verified as soon as the information is entered, and before it is sent?
  • Can errors be easily identified? Are there tools to detect errors and automatically suggest corrections?
  • Does the solution address all of the different ways of sharing data (GDSN network, Excel, pure players’ APIs and connections to professional and consumer apps)?

In summary, connecting your product catalogue to the GDSN network is an important task, but it is not the only element to take into account while looking for the solution that will best meet your needs. In our current omnichannel landscape, brands need to connect to new channels in addition to the GDSN, ideally without needing to deploy a solution or a specific version of their catalogue for each of these channels.

Chen Do

Senior Product Marketing Manager at Alkemics. Chen-Do leads market analysis, product monetization and go-to-market (including partnerships) activities at Alkemics.

envoyer un message


Working together: Creating a consistent brand experience through collaborative data management

The latest news about Alkemics

Working together: Creating a consistent brand experience through collaborative data management.

par Chen Do9 February 20180 commentaires

With the advent of online, and especially multi-channel retail, it is essential for companies to digitize their marketing data and adopt an effective approach to managing digital content, in order to ensure a consistent brand experience across all channels.

This can notably be done through streamlined and effective management of the brand’s content and other data (Digital Asset Management). Centralizing, managing and maintaining this data can prove to be an operational challenge for companies, both internally, within the companies’ various different departments, as well as externally, with its collaborators and communication channels.

This also presents companies with another significant challenge: delivering a consistent brand experience in a complex environment.

For this article, we spoke with Chen-Do Lu, Marketing Manager at Alkemics, and discussed how the collaborative aspects of content management tools are key to addressing these operational and marketing challenges:

Nowadays, why is a collaborative approach essential to managing data more effectively in companies?

Digitization was first implemented by companies to address department-specific needs (logistics, quality control, analyses, marketing, etc.) using specialized solutions, each of which stored and managed data and content in their own ways. However, having their data spread across different types of software and formatted in different manners prevented companies from being able to take full advantage of the opportunities offered by new technologies. This is because it was challenging for company’s teams to access this data, keep it up to date, and ensure quality control.

Nowadays, this content is extremely important, especially for marketing departments, as it is the foundation of a company’s online visibility and product listings. This means that companies need to centralize their data, as well as use collaborative digital content management solutions that both complement the department-specific tools, used daily by different teams to keep the data up to date, and are specifically designed for omnichannel content sharing.

Previously oriented towards training needs (such as digital learning and MOOCs) and internal communications in companies, more and more collaborative platforms are becoming available that are designed to address more operational needs. These models no longer follow a top-down approach when it comes to data, but rather a horizontal, team-focused model, in order to make the data management process more collaborative.

By offering all contributors a single, connected communication channel, business processes and organization are optimized, providing a significant increase in efficiency and operational excellence. Moreover, more efficient data maintenance, sharing and verification processes, as well as the use of collaborative platforms for the digitization of these processes, allows them to be steered more effectively — companies can view indicators on the maturity of these processes, including completeness, quality, compliance, how the data is used, etc.

 

Can improvements to how operational data is managed also benefit the rest of the company’s ecosystem?

This approach can certainly be used by the company’s entire network. Collaborative tools and platforms link the network together, providing the entire ecosystem with a consistent way to to share data.

The increasing number of collaborative platforms available, as well as the ability to link these together through the use of APIs or web service bindings, bridges the gap between companies and their collaborators, facilitating the entire collaboration process. Some software companies, such as Alkemics, are truly creating a collaboration network that connects a wide variety of different actors.

This approach fits in perfectly with new developments in omnichannel business, in which different collaborative tools, connected to external platforms, enable companies to enter data in a single location and share it with their entire ecosystem.

This collaborative model takes a more qualitative approach, creating a bridge between data and those that use it. For example, these platforms facilitate collaborations between brands and retailers in the mass-market retail sector, notably by making it easier for them to collaborate on e-commerce projects. With these types of projects, managing and ensuring the consistency of online content ensures better visibility, and most of all, a seamless brand experience.

At the same time, though collaborative tools are breaking down the barriers between companies and their collaborators, the implementation of these solutions also enables each actor to focus on their core business. Once again taking the example of the grocery retail market, Alkemics enables retailers to collect brand content and data in real-time. This allows companies to enhance their customer experience, providing information and assistance to customers and improving customer engagement. Suppliers once again have the ability to steer their brand experience, while ensuring that retailers also benefit from this.

What impacts do these initiatives have on customers’ brand experience?

As we mentioned before, collaborative content management platforms are primarily designed to share, verify and maintain company or brand data, comprehensively and across all channels. Using a single platform for both data entry and management ensures the consistency of the brand’s digital content.

Over time, this approach to digital content management, which we could refer to as brand consistency, will strengthen the brand experience. A concrete example of this is a consumer’s ability to view identical product pages on all of the e-commerce sites that they visit, regardless of which device that they are using.

This strategy will also facilitate communications throughout the company, breaking down the arbitrary separation between online and offline activities. Having a more complete understanding of products and consumer behaviour will make it easier for companies to determine which channels to sell their products on, manage stock in a consistent and connected manner, and better understand consumer habits and trends.

Consistent data management is therefore one of the key drivers of a seamless brand experience. Through Digital Asset Management, new practices are also emerging. Effective data management also offers companies the ability to improve their products’ rankings on e-commerce sites, via a sort of specific SEO for online stores. This is truly becoming a form of digital merchandising, in which creating effective product listings will improve their visibility on websites, whether via a search by product uses or characteristics, or through filters and navigation elements.

In summary, using a collaborative data management platform enables companies to increase their productivity, both in internal processes and communications with collaborators. These tools ensure more effective data management, as well as consistency throughout the process. Over time, this consistent and multi-channel approach to sharing data strengthens and supports the brand experience, ensuring it is effectively managed across all channels. All of the practices mentioned here are the first steps towards adopting a Smart Data approach, in which effectively using and managing data strengthens the brand experience. What’s the next step? Go beyond optimizing the multi-channel data sharing process and the brand experience, and work on drawing insight from consumer data. In short, develop a Big Data strategy.

Chen Do

Senior Product Marketing Manager at Alkemics. Chen-Do leads market analysis, product monetization and go-to-market (including partnerships) activities at Alkemics.

envoyer un message

Comment se connecter facilement à la GDSN

Découvrez les actus Alkemics

Comment se connecter facilement à la GDSN

par Chen Do13 mars 20190 commentaires

Si GS1 et le réseau GDSN représentent des standards, l’échange de données produits demeure un sujet complexe à l’heure de l’omnicanal. Comment faciliter l’adoption de ces standards ? Comment outiller son catalogue  pour en faire un accélérateur de business ? Réponses…

Les pure players de l’ecommerce (Amazon, CDiscount), les apps de transparence alimentaire (Yuka), une plateforme comme Google Manufacturer Center, des services tiers (Swaven, Clic2Buy) et, bien sûr, les centrales et magasins… C’est tout le problème avec l’omnicanal : de nouveaux canaux émergent qui remplacent rarement l’existant mais… le complexifient. Au grand dam des marques qui se retrouvent confrontées à des difficultés croissantes pour échanger leurs informations produits avec les distributeurs.

À quand un standard pour uniformiser les échanges de données produits ? En fait, ce standard existe, il s’appelle GDSN mais ses différentes facettes sont parfois mal comprises. D’ailleurs, soyons honnêtes, parler de GDSN s’apparente déjà à un malentendu. Le terme « GDSN » (pour Global Data Synchronization Network) ne désigne que le réseau utilisé pour véhiculer les données produits entre un fabricant et un distributeur.

Dans la pratique, et en dépit de son vocabulaire spécifique, ce réseau est très similaire à des outils que nous utilisons tous les jours tels que l’email.  Au sein de ce réseau, chaque acteur dispose d’une adresse : ici c’est le GLN (Global Location Number) qui fait donc office d’adresse mail. Et chaque article possède un code, le GTIN, qui correspond au code barre affiché sur l’emballage des produits. C’est en quelque sort l’objet de notre e-mail. Quant au corps du message, autrement dit la fiche produit, elle aussi respecte un format, celui de la fiche produit GS1 défini par l’organisme du même nom.

GS1 a donc défini un ensemble de standards pour échanger les données produits. Question légitime : quel rôle joue une plateforme telle qu’Alkemics dans cet environnement ? Premièrement, elle représente un point d’accès au réseau GDSN.  Ce réseau, s’il utilise les protocoles d’Internet, n’est pas pour autant public. Pour y échanger des informations, il faut passer par une passerelle accréditée, c’est le cas d’Alkemics qui est une plateforme certifiée GS1.

Deuxièmement, Alkemics facilite l’adoption par les marques des standards GS1. Depuis la solution, quelques clics suffisent pour exporter des fiches produits au format GS1. Enfin, comme tout contributeur, si Alkemics n’a pas pour vocation de produire des standards – mission qui demeure du ressort de GS1 – rien n’interdit en revanche de tester de nouveaux attributs produits encore non-standardisés avant de les proposer à GS1. Bien au contraire, il s’agit là de participer à la dynamique de ce vaste travail de standardisation.Un effort collectif d’autant plus nécessaire que les besoins métiers évoluent et, sans surprise, dans des temps plus courts que ceux requis pour la création de standards. Tester, comme le fait Alkemics, des réponses à besoins émergents, c’est donc aussi répondre au plus vite au besoin des clients.

Tous les distributeurs s’en sont-ils remis au réseau GDSN pour les échanges de données produits ?
Non, pas vraiment. Dans la pratique, chacun a arbitré en fonction de son existant informatique, de son organisation et de ses processus. De nombreuses enseignes exploitent encore Excel. Plus précisément, chacun de ces distributeurs a défini avec Excel son propre format pour échanger des données produits. Ou plutôt « ses » propres formats, car chaque distributeur maintient plusieurs processus de référencement avec des formats distincts. Il existe ainsi un format Excel pour le référencement national des produits permanents, un autre pour les promotions, un autre encore pour les centrales régionales…

Sans surprise, si un grand industriel peut disposer des ressources nécessaires pour traiter cette complexité, pour une petite marque le défi technique vire rapidement au cauchemar. Et pour cause : au fur et à mesure où se multiplient les canaux – et les formats d’échanges— la nécessité de maintenir plusieurs versions d’un catalogue produits et de recourir à plusieurs solutions logicielles semble s’imposer. Mécaniquement. Bonne nouvelle, c’est justement la vocation d’une solution telle qu’Alkemics d’éviter de multiplier les versions de catalogues.

Quelles sont les principales tâches à outiller pour faire de son catalogue produits non pas un fardeau technique mais un véritable accélérateur business ?
On peut en distinguer au moins 5 :

  1. Qu’il s’agisse de saisir manuellement les informations ou de les importer en masse, l’important ici est de s’appuyer sur une solution flexible qui s’adapte aux besoins, outils et aux processus de chaque entreprise.
  2. Gérer tout type d’information
    Les données requises pour la logistique sont-elles saisies ? Des informations riches (visuels, vidéos) ont-elles été ajoutées pour valoriser le produit ? Le catalogue doit proposer un modèle de données exhaustif et extensible.
  3. Contrôler la qualité
    Quel est le niveau de conformité des données produits, au regard des exigences des distributeurs comme de la réglementation (INCO, CLP, CELEX) ? Ici, un contrôle automatisé de la complétude comme des erreurs s’avère précieux.
  4. Publier les données produits
    S’appuyer sur un assistant pour générer les Excel requis par des distributeurs ou encore pour se connecter directement au réseau GDSN. L’objectif est clair : multi-publier depuis un seul catalogue
  5. Piloter
    Répondre aux demandes des distributeurs, superviser le niveau de complétude des données… Centraliser toutes ces informations évite la dispersion et l’approximation.

Au regard de ces besoins, comment évaluer si une solution est réellement en mesure d’y répondre ?
Voici quelques questions pour défricher le terrain :

  • La solution suppose-t-elle un déploiement de logiciels sur site ou est-elle activable en ligne rapidement ?
  • L‘ergonomie globale garantit-elle une saisie simple des informations et un contrôle rapide ? Les produits peuvent-ils être recherchés par GTIN, par code EAN ou par marque ?
  • Les modèles de fiches intègrent-ils les exigences des différents distributeurs et des réglementations ?
  • La qualité des informations est-elle contrôlée lors de la saisie et avant envoi ? Les erreurs sont-elles bien identifiables ? Y a-t-il des détections d’erreur et suggestion de correction automatique?
  • La solution permet-elle de couvrir toutes les modalités d’échanges (réseau GDSN, Excel, API de pure players et connection native à des applications métier et consommateurs) ?

En résumé, veiller à connecter son catalogue produits au réseau GDSN est une attention louable, mais qui ne saurait faire office de ligne directrice exclusive pour trouver la solution la plus adaptée à ses besoins. À l’heure de l’omnicanal, l’enjeu pour les marques consiste à se connecter à la fois à la GDSN comme aux nouveaux canaux. Et, si possible, sans avoir à déployer une solution ou une version spécifique de son catalogue en face de chaque canal.

Chen Do

Senior Product Marketing Manager at Alkemics. Chen-Do leads market analysis, product monetization and go-to-market (including partnerships) activities at Alkemics.

envoyer un message


Travail collaboratif : construire une expérience de marque cohérente par la gestion partagée des données

Découvrez les actus Alkemics

Travail collaboratif : construire une expérience de marque cohérente par la gestion partagée des données

par Chen Do9 février 20181 commentaires

À l’ère du digital et surtout du multicanal les entreprises doivent digitaliser leurs données marketing et adopter une démarche efficace de gestion des contenus numériques afin de maintenir une expérience de marque cohérente sur tous les canaux..

Cela passe notamment par la gestion optimisée des données de la marque et de ses contenus digitaux (Digital Asset Management). Cette gestion de la donnée représente un enjeu opérationnel pour les entreprises, tant en interne auprès de ses différents métiers, qu’en externe auprès de ses partenaires ou de ses canaux de communication, pour centraliser, contrôler, et maintenir les données.

Un enjeu de taille puisqu’il soulève un second défi pour les entreprises : réussir à délivrer une expérience de marque cohérente dans un environnement complexe.

Nous allons étudier avec Chen-Do Lu, responsable marketing chez Alkemics, en quoi la dimension collaborative des outils de gestion des contenus numériques devient clé pour adresser ces deux défis, opérationnel et marketing :

En quoi une approche collaborative est aujourd’hui essentielle pour mieux gérer les données au sein des entreprises ?

La digitalisation des données est tout d’abord arrivée dans l’entreprise pour répondre à des besoins métiers (logistiques, qualité, analyse, marketing, etc.) avec des solutions spécialisées qui stockent et gèrent les données et contenus chacune à leur façon. Cependant cette dispersion et cette disparité des données empêche l’entreprise de tirer pleinement profit des opportunités du digital car elle complexifie l’accès, le contrôle de la qualité ou encore le maintien de contenus à jours entre les équipes et leur écosystème de travail.

Or ce contenu est aujourd’hui clé, notamment pour le marketing, car il est le support de la visibilité et du référencement des produits dans le digital. Il est donc nécessaire pour l’entreprise de centraliser ses données et de se doter de solutions collaboratives de gestion des contenus numériques qui s’appuient à la fois sur les outils métiers utilisés au quotidien pour maintenir une donnée à jour et résolument pensée pour le partage omni-canal de ces contenus.

Préalablement identifiées pour répondre à des problématiques de formations (digital learning, MOOC, etc.) et de communication interne à l’entreprise, comme on a pu le voir avec l’exemple d’Orange, les offres de travail collaboratives se multiplient afin de répondre à des objectifs plus opérationnels. Ces modèles ne suivent donc plus une logique descendante de l’information, mais bien  un modèle horizontal en réseau, afin de décloisonner la gestion des données.

Ainsi, les  processus métier et l’organisation sont optimisés en proposant à l’ensemble des contributeurs un canal unique et unifié. Cela constitue un gain important en agilité et en excellence opérationnelle, ici l’exemple de la supply chain est significatif. En outre optimiser la maintenance, le partage et le contrôle de la données, le recours à des plateformes collaboratives pour la digitalisation de ces processus  renforce le pilotage de ces activés en développant des indicateurs sur la maturité des processus à travers la donnée : complétude, qualité, conformité, utilisation de la données, etc..

Cette meilleure gestion opérationnelle des données s’inscrit-elle également dans l’écosystème des entreprises ?

Ce modèle est tout à fait extensible à l’ensemble du réseau de l’entreprise. La mise en place d’outils et de plateformes collaboratives active le réseau et diffuse de manière unifiée les données à tout l’écosystème de l’entreprise.

La multiplication des plateformes collaboratives et de leur imbrications par l’utilisation d’API ou encore la mise en place de liaisons webservice réduisent les frontières entre les entreprises et leurs partenaire et fluidifient les processus de bout en bout. Certains éditeurs, comme Alkemics, apparaissent alors comme un véritable réseau de collaboration entre différentes entreprises.

Cette démarche s’inscrit parfaitement dans l’évolution de l’entreprise omnicanale, où les différents outils collaboratifs connectés avec des plateformes externes permettent de diffuser les informations à l’ensemble de l’écosystème de la marque via un seul point d’entrée.

Le modèle collaboratif structure les ponts entre la donnée et ceux qui les exploitent dans une approche plus qualitative. Par exemple, ces plateformes facilitent les relations entre les Marques et les Distributeurs dans la grande consommation, notamment pour mieux collaborer autour du e-commerce où la gestion et la cohérence des contenus digitaux garantissent un meilleur référencement et surtout une expérience de marque sans couture.

Paradoxalement, si les outils collaboratifs vont estomper les frontières entre les entreprises et leurs partenaires, par la mise en place de ces solutions chaque acteur pourra ensuite se recentrer sur leur cœur de métier. Dans l’exemple de la grande distribution encore, Alkemics permet aux distributeurs de collecter en temps réel les contenus et informations produits par les marques. Une approche qui offre une expérience optimale : information, orientation et engagement des consommateurs. Ici les fournisseurs redeviennent maître de leur expérience de marque, tout en partageant le bénéfice de cette expérience avec le distributeur.

Quels impacts ces démarches ont sur l’expérience de marque pour les clients ?

On l’a dit, les plateformes de gestion collaborative de contenus permettent d’abord de diffuser, de contrôler et de maintenir de manière exhaustive et sur l’ensemble des canaux les données relatives à l’entreprise et / ou à la marque. Cet unique point d’entrée et de gestion des données tel que nous l’avons décrit va déterminer une certaine cohérence dans les contenus digitaux de la marque.

Progressivement cette cohérence, que l’on peut qualifier de cohérence de marque ou brand consistency va renforcer l’expérience de marque. Très concrètement imaginez qu’un consommateur ait la capacité d’accéder à des fiches produits identiques sur l’ensemble des sites marchands sur lesquelles il navigue quel que soit le device utilisé.

A termes, une gestion unifiée des contenus numériques décloisonnera l’entreprise et la séparation arbitraire en physique et digital. Grâce à une compréhension plus fine des produits, des comportements consommateurs, il deviendra plus simple de comprendre sur quels canaux vendre un produit, d’avoir une gestion unifiée et intelligente des stocks, où encore d’appréhender les moments et les usages de consommation.

La gestion cohérente de la donnée est donc un des leviers d’une expérience de marque sans couture. Par extension, par le Digital Asset Management de nouvelles pratiques apparaissent. La bonne gestion des données offre la capacité à améliorer le référencement des produits sur les sites de e-commerce, une sorte de SEO appliqué aux sites de vente en ligne. Dès lors on peut parler de véritable merchandising digital où le bon référencement des produits améliore leur visibilité sur les sites : recherche par usage, ou caractéristique, filtres et facettes de navigation.

En synthèse, l’utilisation d’une plateforme de gestion des données collaborative constitue un gain de productivité pour l’entreprise, tant pour ses processus internes que pour les relations avec ces partenaires. Ces outils garantissent une meilleure gestion et cohérence des données de bout en bout. Progressivement la diffusion cohérente et multicanale des données renforce et donne de la consistance à l’expérience de marque qui d’un canal à un autre est maitrisée. L’ensemble des pratiques décrites ici constituent les premières briques de l’adoption d’une approche Smart Data où donner du sens et maitriser ses données renforcent l’expérience de marque. L’étape suivante ? Ne plus simplement maitriser la diffusion multicanale de la donnée et l’expérience de marque mais bien réussir à exploiter les données des consommateurs, en deux mots construire une stratégie Big Data.

Chen Do

Senior Product Marketing Manager at Alkemics. Chen-Do leads market analysis, product monetization and go-to-market (including partnerships) activities at Alkemics.

envoyer un message